History of Lostock Hall Memorial Band

The band was was formed in 1948, originally know as the Four Lane End Band under the direction of Harold Beck.

Following the erection of a war memorial in Tardy Gate £100 was donated to the band and a number of instruments purchased. Soon after this the name was changed to Lostock Hall Memorial Band.

In its early days the band played at various carnivals, church walking days in the surrounding areas, including the Preston Guild celebrations in 1952. In 1962 Ron Heyes took over conducting the band and in 1967 took the band to there first contest ‘Preston and District NWABBA’ with the band achieving their first contest success winning first prize at the Preston and District NMABBA Contest at Co-op Hall, Longridge.

Over the next 20 years under the direction of Ron Heyes the band enjoyed numerous successes at Senior and Junior level, including its first trip to the National finals in 1984.

The band have gone from strength to strength over the years with many players joining HM Forces and enjoying careers as professional musicians. In addition many players have moved on to Bands playing at the highest level including Black Dyke, Faireys, Wingates, Besses o’th Barn and Leyland.

We have always prided ourselves in educating Young people in brass playing and have a thriving junior band, with many juniors eventually joining the main band.

In recent history the band major success was winning the National Brass Band Championship in Harrogate in 2008 under the directorship of John Wood.

The Band continues to perform at local events throughout the year and looks forward to continued success.

Major Successes and Important Events

1948 – Band is formed as the ‘Four Lane Ends’ Band under the direction of Harold Beck

1952 – Invited to play at The Preston Guild Celebrations

1967 – First Contest, Preston and District NWABBA

1969 – 1st Contest Success, 1st Prize Preston and District NWABBA at Co-op Hall Longridge

1980 – Most Successful local band at Junior quartet contest’s

1984 – Represented the North West area at The National Finals , Royal Albert Hall London

1988 – German Concert Tour, Rhine Valley

1992 – 2nd Appearance at Preston Guild Celebrations

1995 – 2nd Visit to National Finals, Wembley Conference Centre London

1998 – Celebrated our 50th Anniversary with a concert tour of the Moselle Vally Germany

2006 – 3rd visit to the National Finals, National Conference Centre, Harrogate

2008 – 60th Anniversary Celebrations

2008 – 4th Visit to the National Finals and finally crowned Champions of Great Britain

Musical Directors through the decades:

1948 – 1950 Harold Beck
1950 – 1952 Reginald Gledhill
1952 – 1956 Harold Broomhead
1956 – 1962 William Price
1962 – 1989 Ron Heyes
1989 – 1990 Frank Hughs
1990 – 1991 Nick Day
1991 – 1992 Geoff Sead
1992 – 1994 Graham Kitchen
1994 – 1996 Tim Pritchard
1996 – 1997 Ron Heyes
1997 – 2000 Graham Martin
2000 – 2001 Ron Heyes
2001 – 2004 Ken Rollins
2004 – 2005 Ken Rollins / Phil Edwards
2005 – 2007 Phil Edwards
2007                  Iain McKnight / John Wood
2007 – 2012 John Wood
2012 – 2013 Iain McNight / Graham Martin
2013             Brian Harper

Comments are closed.


  • 56,701 hits
%d bloggers like this: